CITY OF NEW YORK



MANHATTAN COMMUNITY BOARD FOUR

330 West 42nd Street, 26th floor New York, NY 10036 tel: 212-736-4536 fax: 212-947-9512 www.nyc.gov/mcb4

Chair

ROBERT J. BENFATTO, JR., ESQ. **District Manager**

July 26, 2012

Ms. Margaret Forgione Manhattan Borough Commissioner New York City Department of Transportation 59 Maiden Lane, 37th Floor New York, New York 10038

Re: Bus Stop Location at 34th Street between 9th and 10th Avenues

Dear Commissioner Forgione:

Manhattan Community Board 4 (MCB4) appreciates the New York City Department of Transportation sustained commitment to resolving loading and unloading issues on the north side of 34th Street between Dyer and 10th Avenues. We remain encouraged in the knowledge that the bus stop sidewalk extension will not be built in the early phases of the West 34th Street SBS on the west side of Dyer, in order to maintain the flexibility to relocate the stop later between 9th Avenue and Dyer Avenue.

After extensive community consultation, it is clear that, considering the new constraints the Select Bus Service has introduced, the preferred location for the bus stop on the North Side of West 34th Street is just west of 9th Avenue, in front of the GHI building. MCB4 recommends that this stop replace the stop that is currently just east of 9th Avenue. This would yield necessary loading space on West 34th Street west of Dyer Avenue while keeping the bus stop within a comfortable distance of 400 feet for all residents of the block. It would also allow the consolidation of two bus stops (and thus likely reduce bus travel times) and return this area to the usual spacing of stops.

We understand that such a move is contingent on the closure of the northbound Dyer Avenue during peak hours and the removal of curb cuts in front of GHI. We will endeavor to work with you and other appropriate agencies to achieve such a result.

Sincerely,

Mer Mer

Corey Johnson Chair

Christine Berthet Co-Chair Transportation Planning Committee Transportation Planning Committee

Jay Marcus Co-Chair

Cc: MCB4 elected officials