1625

CITY OF NEW YORK

MANHATTAN COMMUNITY BOARD FOUR

330 West 42nd Street, 26th floor New York, NY 10036 tel: 212-736-4536 fax: 212-947-9512 www.nyc.gov/mcb4

DELORES RUBINChair

Jesse Bodine District Manager

April 13, 2017

Andrew M. Cuomo Governor The Executive Chamber Albany NY 12224

Carl E. Heastie Speaker New York State Assembly LOB 932 Albany, NY 12248

John J. Flanagan Majority Leader New York State Senate Room 330, State Capitol Building Albany, NY 12247

Dear Governor Coumo, Speaker Heastie, and Majority Leader Flanagan:

Manhattan Community Board 4 (MCB4) would like to express our support for proposed legislation A6896 and S5319. If passed, they would amend the New York State Alcoholic Beverage Control Law to require at least one member of the State Liquor Authority (SLA) be a resident of New York City. All appointments to the SLA are made by the Governor and **consent** by the Senate.

As part of our New York City Charter mandated responsibilities, MCB4 must review all applications for liquor licenses in our communities, Chelsea, Hells Kitchen and Hudson Yards. After having open meetings where the applicants present their arguments for the granting of the licenses and members of the Board and the neighbors of the proposed establishments voice their opinions, MCB4 makes a recommendation to the State Liquor Authority. The SLA has over the years become more sensitive to the needs of our district but we believe a city resident would better understand our situation.

With over 50,000 liquor licenses across New York State the State, the SLA must deal with a variety of complex issues and concerns. Given the volume of liquor licenses within New York City and it's unique challenges and issues, MCB4 supports this legislation which would **ensure the New York City perspective is represented** on the State Liquor Authority board.

Sincerely

Delores Rubin

Chair

Manhattan Community Board 4

cc: Hon. Brad Hoylman, State Senate

Hon. Marisol Alcantara, State Senate Hon. Richard Gottfried, State Assembly

Hon. Linda B. Rosenthal, State Assembly

Hon. Debroah Glick, State Assembly

Hon. Carmen De La Rosa