CITY OF NEW YORK



Chair

JESSE BODINE District Manager

MANHATTAN COMMUNITY BOARD FOUR

330 West 42nd Street, 26th floor New York, NY 10036 tel: 212-736-4536 fax: 212-947-9512 www.nyc.gov/mcb4

February 13, 2015

Polly Trottenberg **Transportation Commissioner** NYC Department of Transportation 59 Maiden Lane, 37th Floor New York, NY 10038

Repair of Pedestrian Access Ramps in Manhattan Community District 4 Re:

Dear Commissioner Trottenberg:

Manhattan Community Board 4 (CB4) would like to request the assistance of the Department of Transportation (DOT) with the expedited repair of many damaged pedestrian access ramps in our community. Access ramps are vital for pedestrians, especially those with disabilities to travel throughout the City. Within Manhattan Community District 4 (MCD4) many of these ramps have become severely damaged and create an obstacle for many members of our community.

The following is a list of ramps we would like to be repaired as quickly as possible:

- All corners of W. 42nd Street and 9th Avenue;
- Southeast corner of W. 44th and 9th Avenue; including north side of West 44th Street;
- Southeast corner of W. 51st Street at 9th Avenue; including south side of W. 51st Street;
 Northeast corner and south side of W. 55th at 9th Avenue; including south side of W. 55th
- Northwest corner of W. 57th Street at 9th Avenue; including no ramp on south side of W. 55th Street:
- Northwest corner of W. 56th Street at 9th Avenue; including south side of W. 56th Street;
- Southwest corner of W. 53rd Street at 9th Avenue; including north side of W. 53rd Street;
- All corners at W. 50th Street and 9th Avenue
- Northwest and southwest corners of W. 47th Street and 9th Avenue;
- Southwest corner of W. 46th Street and 9th Avenue; including south side of W. 46th Street;
- Northwest and southwest corners of W. 45th Street at 9th Avenue.

We thank you in advance for your cooperation in making these repairs as quickly as possible.

Sincerely,

Christine Berthet

Chair

Jay Marcus

Co-Chair, Transportation

Planning Committee

Ernest Modarelli

Co-Chair, Transportation

Planning Committee

Cc:

Mayor's Office for People with Disabilities

Manhattan Borough Commissioner Margaret Forgione

Council Member Corey Johnson

Council Member Helen Rosenthal

Manhattan Borough President Gale Brewer

State Senator Brad Hoylman

Assemblymember Richard Gottfried

Assemblymember Linda Rosenthal