CITY OF NEW YORK



MANHATTAN COMMUNITY BOARD FOUR

330 West 42nd Street, 26th floor New York, NY 10036 tel: 212-736-4536 fax: 212-947-9512 www.nyc.gov/mcb4

CHRISTINE BERTHET Chair

ROBERT J. BENFATTO, JR., ESQ. District Manager

April 3, 2014

Polly Trottenberg Commissioner NYC Department of Transportation 55 Water Street, 9th Floor New York, NY 10041

Re: Split Phase signal request in Chelsea (West 25th, West 29th and Eighth Avenue)

Dear Commissioner Trottenberg:

Manhattan Community Board 4 (CB4) would like to again request the instillation of left-turn signals on Eighth Avenue at the southwest corners of West 25th and West 29th Street, including separate (north/south) pedestrian crossing times. We feel that this feature has been a major reason for the decline in pedestrian and bicycle injuries at other already installed bicycle path intersections. We note that Eighth Avenue from West 23rd to West 34th Streets is adjacent to a Naturally Occurring Retirement Community (NORC) and is in the top 10% for the number of pedestrian, bicyclist and vehicle accident related injuries in Manhattan.

These split phase signals were originally requested by CB4 in our comments on the installation of the Eighth Avenue enclosed bicycle lane extension to West 30th Street. We made the request again in our comments on the installation of the bike lanes from West 29th Street to West 30th Street. These requests have become more urgent as there have been several community member reports of postal trucks turning at high speeds at West 29th Street; in addition, we received a petition with over one thousand names requesting the same at West 25th Street from Penn South residents.

We hope that DOT will finally comply with our request to install these left-turn signals at the intersections of Eight Avenue and West 25th Street and West 29th Street. This feature is important to pedestrian safety at intersections that are adjacent to a community which is especially vulnerable to bicycle and vehicle related accidents.

Sincerely,

Christine Berthet Chair

Jay Marcus Co-Chair, Transportation Planning Committee

Ernest Modarelli Co-Chair, Transportation Planning Committee