CITY OF NEW YORK



MANHATTAN COMMUNITY BOARD FOUR

330 West 42nd Street, 26th floor New York, NY 10036 tel: 212-736-4536 fax: 212-947-9512 www.nyc.gov/mcb4

CHRISTINE BERTHET Chair

JESSE BODINE District Manager

December 10, 2014

Assembly Member Linda Rosenthal 230 W. 72nd Street, 2F New York, NY

Re: M11 Bus Service

Dear Assembly Member Rosenthal:

Manhattan Community Board 4 requests your assistance in working with the MTA to increase and improve service on the M11 bus. We ask for your assistance since our previous requests to the MTA have not resulted in significant changes or improvements and we feel a more creative approach is required.

The M11 bus services is an important transportation mode for MCB4 – running through the middle of Hell's Kitchen and Chelsea along Ninth and Tenth Avenues and adjacent to CB4's large high rise communities such Manhattan Plaza, London Terrace, Penn South, MIMA, and Fulton Houses. Given its route from Harlem to Greenwich Village, it also serves as an important link to Manhattan's cultural (from the Apollo Theater to Lincoln Center to Broadway and off-Broadway) and tourist (Highline, Chelsea Market, Riverbank Park) resources. However, the timeliness of the bus service is hampered by the frequent severe traffic around Lincoln Tunnel access points on both Ninth and Tenth Avenues and by a schedule that discourages usage on potentially high customer base times after theater and during the weekends (when it is scheduled to run every 15 to 30 minutes).

We believe there are both solutions to these problems and a way for the MTA to see the potential for increased ridership beyond quarterly passenger counts. This would require creative brainstorming and effective and expansive communications. Your office has played an important role working with the MTA in the past and we ask for your assistance in increasing dialogue between the M11 constituencies and the MTA and in improving bus line service.

Thank you for your consideration and involvement.

Sincerely,

Christine Berthet

Chair

Jay Marcus

Co-Chair, Transportation

Planning Committee

Ernest Modarelli

Co-Chair, Transportation

Planning Committee