CITY OF NEW YORK



MANHATTAN COMMUNITY BOARD FOUR

330 West 42nd Street, 26th floor New York, NY 10036 tel: 212-736-4536 fax: 212-947-9512 www.nyc.gov/mcb4

CHRISTINE BERTHET Chair

ROBERT J. BENFATTO, JR., ESQ. District Manager

December 6, 2013

Margaret Forgione Manhattan Borough Commissioner NYC Department of Transportation 59 Maiden Lane, 37th Floor New York, NY 10038

Re: Parking Regulation Change – 275 Seventh Avenue at West 26th Street

Dear Commissioner Forgione:

Manhattan Community Board 4 (CB4) supports the Unite Here building's request to change the parking regulation on the southeast corner of West 26th Street at Seventh Avenue to accommodate a drop off and pickup for patients and handicapped persons accessing the large medical facilities housed in the building.

275 Seventh Avenue, also known as the Unite Building, houses the medical offices of the Union Health Care Center, and New York Cardiovascular Associates. The hundreds of patients using these facilities arrive by ambulance, ambulette and access a ride services. Currently, such vehicles double-park on Seventh Avenue with patients often having to navigate between parked cars to access the curb.

To alleviate the problem, the building management is creating a new lobby dedicated to medical services patients on West 26th Street around the corner. To make this arrangement effective, they request that the daytime regulation "3 hour metered parking, Commercial Vehicles only, Others no standing, Monday- Friday 8AM to 7 PM" and the night time regulation "No Standing 1AM – 7AM all days" be changed to: "No Standing Except Authorized Vehicles, Ambulette 7AM – 7PM Monday to Saturday" on West 26th Street for a length of 60 feet going east from Seventh Avenue.

Residents have expressed concerns that the street is very congested and the vehicles will have to park properly close to the curb and not idle. The applicant has committed to have a security guard at all time to ensure there is no traffic obstruction or idling.

Sincerely,

Christine Berthet

Mer Mer

Chair

Jay Marcus

Chair, Transportation Planning Committee