CITY OF NEW YORK

MANHATTAN COMMUNITY BOARD FOUR

330 West 42nd Street, 26th floor New York, NY 10036 tel: 212-736-4536 fax: 212-947-9512 www.nyc.gov/mcb4

COREY JOHNSON Chair

ROBERT J. BENFATTO, JR., ESQ. **District Manager**

January 3, 2013

Mr. Andrew Lautenbacher Hess Corporation 1 Hess Plaza Woodbridge, New Jersey 07095

Re: Hess Station (502 W. 45th Street) & P.S. 51 - Pedestrian Safety

Dear Mr. Lautenberger:

Manhattan Community Board 4 appreciates the involvement of the Hess Corporation in promoting student and pedestrian safety in Hell's Kitchen by creatively installing various sidewalk ingress/egress improvement measures on Tenth Avenue and W. 44th and W. 45th Streets. With the expected return of the temporarily relocated P.S. 51 in September 2013, we once again ask for your assistance and involvement.

When P.S. 51 returns, its new building will be adjacent to the Hess Station on the north side of W. 44th Street between Tenth and Eleventh Avenues. The students – which will double in numbers- will not use the W. 45th Street entrance any longer, but rather will use the W. 44th Street entrance. We request that you prevent vehicle use of the W. 44th Street entrances/exits to the Hess Station during the hours that students arrive (7:30 a.m. to 9:30 a.m.) and leave (2:30 p.m. to 5:00 p.m.). Similarly to the dispositions you had set up on W. 45th Street, we request that you use both a chain link fence and barricades during these hours.

We also ask that you install bollards along W. 44th Street in locations on sidewalks adjacent to the gas station curb cuts to prevent taxis from parking on the sidewalk, a frequent occurrence because of the substantial number of taxi franchises along the south side of the street. This practice, in addition to being illegal, is not conducive to student safety.

As always, we appreciate your assistance and involvement and look forward to working with you to ensure a safe return of P.S. 51 school children and staff.

Sincerely yours,

Berthe

Corey Johnson Chair

Christine Berthet Co-Chair

Jay Marcus Co-Chair Transportation Planning Committee Transportation Planning Committee