## CITY OF NEW YORK



## MANHATTAN COMMUNITY BOARD FOUR

330 West 42<sup>nd</sup> Street, 26<sup>th</sup> floor New York, NY 10036 tel: 212-736-4536 fax: 212-947-9512 www.nyc.gov/mcb4

JOHN WEIS Chair

**ROBERT J. BENFATTO, JR., ESQ.** District Manager

January 11, 2010

Ms. Margaret Forgione Manhattan Commissioner Department of Transportation 59 Maiden Lane, 37th Floor New York, New York 10038

Re: Parking regulation – West 34<sup>th</sup> Street, between 9<sup>th</sup> and 10<sup>th</sup> Avenues

Manhattan Community Board 4 (CB4) requests that the DOT change the parking regulation on the south side of 34th Street to "No standing 7 a.m. to 7 p.m. Monday to Friday , No parking from 7 a.m. to 7 p.m. Saturday and Sunday ." from 100 feet west of  $9^{th}$  Avenue to 10th Avenue.

The current regulations prohibit standing 7 p.m. to 7 a.m. seven days a week. These regulations pose special difficulties for elderly or disabled residents have been unable to be dropped by taxis in front of their building, to receive deliveries or to load and unload their groceries. They also make it impossible to easily move in or out of the buildings. Because of the current restrictions, delivery and moving vehicles must park on West 33<sup>rd</sup> or West 35<sup>th</sup> Streets, and move items over long distances. Related regulations also prohibit stopping around the corner on 9<sup>th</sup> Avenue during normal business hours.

A variety of parking regulations apply along the BRT bus lanes, and in particular, the parking regulations in front of residential properties on the far- east side, are much more accommodating to the residents needs. These proposed changes will mitigate the situation over the week- end, allowing residents to schedule deliveries and moving appropriately.

.

Sincerely,

Jan Sweet

John Weis

Chair

Manhattan Community Board No. 4

**Christine Berthet** 

Co-Chair

Transportation Planning Committee

Jay Marcus

Co-Chair

Transportation Planning Committee

CC: CB5 (Vikki Barbero, Thomas Miller)

CB6

Mayor Michael R. Bloomberg

Manhattan Borough President Scott Stringer

Hon. Thomas Duane

Hon. Liz Krueger

Hon. Richard Gottfried

Hon. Carolyn Maloney

Hon. Deborah Glick

Hon. Christine Quinn

Hon. Jonathan Bing

Hon. Rosie Mendez

Hon. Dan Garodnick

Hon. Gale Brewer

Howard H. Roberts, Jr., MTA NYC Transit