CITY OF NEW YORK

MANHATTAN COMMUNITY BOARD FOUR

330 West 42nd Street, 26th floor New York, NY 10036 tel: 212-736-4536 fax: 212-947-9512 www.ManhattanCB4.org

JEAN-DANIEL NOLAND Chair

ROBERT J. BENFATTO, JR., ESQ. District Manager

February 25, 2009

Howard H. Roberts, Jr. President MTA NYC Transit 2 Broadway New York, NY 10004

Re: Bus stop elimination – 34th Street and Dyer Avenue

Dear Mr. Roberts:

Manhattan Community Board 4 (CB4) recommends that the bus stop located at the northwest corner of 34th Street at Tenth Avenue, be relocated further east at midpoint between Dyer Avenue and Tenth Avenue, to avoid dangerous conditions and better serve the residential population.

The current stop is located in front of a parking lot, and the sidewalk is rarely maintained, with ice and snow remaining on the ground for long periods, a dangerous condition for the riders. Further, due to the Hudson Yards rezoning, most of this block is a construction site and only a small industrial building remains.

The block between Dyer Avenue and Tenth Avenue is heavily populated with residents, a church, and a school, all grouped fairly close to Dyer Avenue. There used to be a bus stop at the intersection of Dyer Avenue and 34th Street. It was recently moved to the east side of Ninth Avenue, causing this large group of users to cross two dangerous intersections to reach the bus stop on Ninth Avenue. The next stop, at Tenth Avenue is located 1,100 ft away, a much longer distance than the norm of 750 feet spacing between stops.

CB4 recommends that MTA move the bus stop located at the northwest corner of 34th Street at Tenth Avenue further east, approximately 750 feet away from the Ninth Avenue stop, to provide a better service to the residents without compromising the service efficiencies gained by properly spacing the stops.

Sincerely,

Jean-Daniel Noland Chair Manhattan Community Board 4 c.c.

Adrienne Taub, MTA Speaker Christine Quinn Senator Thomas Duane Manhattan Borough President Scott Stringer Assembly member Richard Gottfried

Christine Berthet Co-Chair Transportation Planning Committee

Jay Marcus Co-Chair Transportation Planning Committee