

CITY OF NEW YORK

MANHATTAN COMMUNITY BOARD FOUR

330 West 42nd Street, 26th floor New York, NY 10036 tel: 212-736-4536 fax: 212-947-9512 www.ManhattanCB4.org

JEAN-DANIEL NOLAND Chair

ROBERT J. BENFATTO, JR., ESQ. District Manager

February 25, 2009

Howard H. Roberts, Jr. President MTA NYC Transit 2 Broadway New York, NY 10004

Re: 14th Street - Seventh Avenue Subway Station # 1,2 and 3 lines

Dear Mr. Roberts:

Manhattan Community Board 4 (CB4) requests that the Metropolitan Transportation Authority (MTA) addresses as soon as possible the dangerous conditions in the subway station at 14th Street and Seventh Avenue for the #1, 2, and 3 lines. This station serves the neighborhoods of Chelsea and Greenwich Village and straddles the border between Community Board 2 and 4.

At the station entrance located at the northwest corner of Seventh Avenue and 14th Street, the stairwell is permanently wet and slippery making access to the station very dangerous.

The water leaks coming from large portions of the ceiling have caused the cement and paint to evolve over the years into a forest of moldy stalactites, quite unsightly and possibly unhealthy. At a time when PlaNYC2030 encourages more citizens to use mass transit, this entrance makes the trip potentially dangerous for the many riders who use it.

Further, this station is not wheelchair accessible, a situation that needs addressing for our diabled population. Reopening an existing underground corridor that has been shut down would be beneficial, in that it linked the Eighth Avenue station and thus provided wheelchair access to some but not all platforms.

As far as we can ascertain, the MTA has not refurbished this station in more that 30 years. Please let us know where this station stands in the priority queue for a full refurbishing. In the mean time, CB4 requests that the unhealthy and dangerous leaks, stairwell conditions be repaired, the ceiling molds be removed, and the corridor reopened.

Sincerely,

Jean-Daniel Noland Chair Manhattan Community Board 4

1ser

Christine Berthet Co-Chair Transportation Planning Committee

Jay Marcus Co-Chair Transportation Planning Committee

c.c. Adrienne Taub, MTA Shirley Secunda, Manhattan Community Board 2 Andrew Albert, New York City Transit Riders Council (NYCTRC) Speaker Christine Quinn Susanna Miller