## 1625

## CITY OF NEW YORK

## MANHATTAN COMMUNITY BOARD FOUR

330 West 42<sup>nd</sup> Street, 26<sup>th</sup> floor New York, NY 10036 tel: 212-736-4536 fax: 212-947-9512 www.ManhattanCB4.org

## JEAN-DANIEL NOLAND Chair

ROBERT J. BENFATTO, JR., ESQ.

District Manager

November 21, 2008

Borough Commissioner Margaret Forgione Department of Transportation 59 maiden Lane, 35<sup>th</sup> Floor New York, NY 10038

Re: Request to change parking regulations West 19<sup>th</sup> Street, between Sixth and Seventh Avenues

Dear Borough Commissioner Forgione,

Manhattan Community Board 4 requests that additional parking regulations on the south side of West 19th Street between Sixth Avenue and Seventh Avenue be added to include "No Standing 11 p.m. to 6 a.m. except Trucks Loading and Unloading" for the approximately one third of the block from the curb cut for the loading area of the Metropolitan Pavilion to the East Side of Sixth Avenue and "No Standing 11pm to 6am" to the west of that curb cut. The existing regulations for "No standing Except Trucks Loading and Unloading 6 a.m. to 11 p.m." would also remain.

This change in parking regulations would make this part of the block consistent with the north side of West 19th Street between Sixth and Seventh Avenue and for West 19th between Fifth Avenues and Sixth Avenues. It is being done at the request of the Chelsea House Condominium Association (130 West 19th Street). The businesses on the block were surveyed and supported the proposal (permitting Trucks Loading and Unloading area east of the Metropolitan Pavilion curb cut was done at the request of the Metropolitan Pavilion to accommodate businesses in that building).

Notices were we put in the lobbies of two other residential buildings on the block and no objections or comments were received.

Sincerely,

Jean-Daniel Noland

Chair

Manhattan

Community Board 4

Christine Berthet Co-Chair

Transportation Planning

Committee

Jay Marcus Co-Chair

**Transportation Planning Committee** 

c.c.:

Colleen Chattergoon, DOT Speaker Christine Quinn Assembly member Richard Gottfried Borough President Scott Stringer Senator Thomas Duane Chelsea House Condominium Association