CITY OF NEW YORK

MANHATTAN COMMUNITY BOARD FOUR

330 West 42nd Street, 26th floor New York, NY 10036 tel: 212-736-4536 fax: 212-947-9512 www.ManhattanCB4.org

JEAN-DANIEL NOLANDChair

ROBERT J. BENFATTO, JR., ESQ. District Manager

May 12, 2008

Howard H. Roberts, Jr. President MTA New York City Transit

Re: Alternate Bus Route M16

Dear Mr. Roberts:

Manhattan Community Board 4 (CB4) requests that the Metropolitan Transit Authority (MTA) extend the M16 route to Twelfth Avenue using 42nd Street instead of 43rd Street. CB4 believes that this change will improve service to a large segment of our district's population. The congestion pricing plan had included two more buses for the M42 line. This change is needed to help lessen the deficit in capacity on this line.

The M16's layover area (terminal of the route) is currently located at the northeast corner of Ninth Avenue and 43rd Street. It first stops at the northeast corner of 42nd Street and Ninth Avenue. It then proceeds down Ninth Avenue to make a left turn at 34th Street where it crosses over to the East River. To access the first stop, the bus has to cross four lanes of traffic while fighting the gridlock on the approach to the Lincoln Tunnel. As it proceeds further down Ninth Avenue the bus is routinely delayed by the tunnel queues, affecting its reliability right from the start.

The M16 route used to go all the way to Twelfth Avenue on 42nd Street. In the last eight years, thousands of residences were constructed on 42nd Street between Ninth and Twelfth Avenues. The M42 is the only bus route servicing these residents. The much hoped for stop on the # 7 subway at Tenth Avenue remains unfunded and in any case is only likely in an undefined future. A number of new developments are also under construction on Tenth and Eleventh Avenues with no bus service.

We hope you will take the above in consideration and grant our request for a change and extension of the M16 bus service.

Sincerely,

Jean-Daniel Noland Chair Manhattan

Community Board 4

Christine Berthet Co-Chair

Transportation Planning

Committee

Jay Marcus Co-Chair

Transportation Planning

Committee

c.c. Adrienne Taub, MTA