

## CITY OF NEW YORK

## MANHATTAN COMMUNITY BOARD FOUR

330 West 42<sup>nd</sup> Street, 26<sup>th</sup> floor New York, NY 10036 tel: 212-736-4536 fax: 212-947-9512 www.ManhattanCB4.org

JEAN-DANIEL NOLAND Chair

ROBERT J. BENFATTO, JR., ESQ. District Manager

April 14, 2008

Borough Commissioner Margaret Forgione Department of Transportation 59 Maden Lane, 35<sup>th</sup> Floor New York, NY 10038

## Re: Request to improve safety at corner of West 46<sup>th</sup> Street and Tenth Avenue

Dear Commissioner Forgione:

Manhattan Community Board 4 (CB4) requests two changes at the corner of West 46<sup>th</sup> Street and Tenth Avenue. One, we request that a sign be installed along the east side of the avenue south of West 46<sup>th</sup> Street warning drivers "Caution on Right Turn, Street bulb-Out." In addition, we request that NYC Department of Transportation (DOT) investigate installing a right hand turn traffic light for turns from Tenth Avenue onto West 46<sup>th</sup> Street that would provide safe time for pedestrians crossing West 46<sup>th</sup> Street when cars would not be turning.

We make this request as a result of discussion with the West 46<sup>th</sup> Street Block Association and residents and committee member observations. Several people mentioned that there have been accidents at that corner related to right turning vehicles from Tenth Avenue on to West 46<sup>th</sup> Street, that the corner crossing was frequently used by P.S. 51 school children, and that traffic on Tenth Avenue often speeds up after the common slow-down south of the Hess Station between West 44<sup>th</sup> and West 45<sup>th</sup> Streets.

According to the Midtown Precinct North, there have been 19 accidents on that corner in the last year and two this year up to date. While that is not an unusually high number, it reflects a level of risk not acceptable to many West  $46^{\text{th}}$  Street residents.

As always, we appreciate your consideration and assistance and look forward to working with DOT to improve pedestrian safety.

Sincerely,

Jean-Daniel Noland Chair Manhattan Community Board 4

c.c. West 46<sup>th</sup> Block Association Ms. M. Glicksman

Christine Berthet Co-Chair Transportation Planning Committee

Jay Marcus Co-Chair Transportation Planning Committee