November 12, 2002

Amanda Burden Chair City Planning Commission 22 Reade Street New York NY 10007

Dear Chair Burden:

Re: N 030119 ZRY, Unenclosed Sidewalk Cafes

At its full meeting on November 6, 2002, Manhattan Community Board No. 4 adopted the following resolution.

WHEREAS the City Planning Commission in conjunction with the Department of Consumer Affairs has proposed a simplification of the present rules and procedures pertinent to approval and enforcement of unenclosed sidewalk cafes now requiring the approval of multiple agencies and consuming an inordinate amount of time, and

WHEREAS the simplification consists of removal from the Zoning Resolution the siting and physical design criteria now found in its Article 1, Chapter 4; adopting a Local Law centralizing the review, and licensing and enforcement of sidewalk cafes at DCA; and then having DCA adopt rules establishing the siting and physical design criteria, and

WHEREAS the Commission has advised that the proposal does not remove or reduce the review of applications for sidewalk cafes by Community Boards, therefore be it

RESOLVED that Manhattan Community Board No. 4 supports the proposed zoning text change, N 030119 ZRY, and be it further

RESOLVED that the proposed 45 day response period for community boards may be too short in view of boards' summer schedules or failure of applicants to appear at designated meetings, and be it further A. Burden November 12, 2002 Page 2 of 2

RESOLVED that Manhattan Community Board No. 4 reserves the right to comment on the needed legislation or DCA rules at an appropriate later time when they become available.

Sincerely,

Simone Sindin

Simone Sindin Chair Manhattan Community Board No. 4

Joshua David Co-Chair Transportation Planning Committee Walter Mankoff Co-Chair Transportation Planning Committee

cc: Hon. Michael Bloomberg, Mayor
Hon. C. Virginia Fields, Manhattan Borough President
Hon. Jerrold Nadler, US Representative
Hon. Tom Duane, NY State Senator
Hon. Eric Schneiderman, NY State Senator
Hon. Deborah Glick, NY State Assembly Member
Hon. Richard Gottfried, NY State Assembly Member
Hon. Scott Stringer, NY State Assembly Member
Hon. Christine Quinn, City Council Member
Hon. Gale Brewer, City Council Member
Gretchen Dykstra, Department of Consumer Affairs