

## CITY OF NEW YORK MANHATTAN COMMUNITY BOARD FOUR

424 W. 33<sup>rd</sup> Street, Suite 580 New York, NY 10001 tel: 212-736-4536 www.mcb4.nyc

Chair

**Jesse Bodine** District Manager

December 8, 2021

Hon. Kathy Hochul Governor of New York State NYS State Capitol Building Albany, NY 12224

John "Janno" Lieber Acting Chair & CEO Metropolitan Transportation Authority 2 Broadway New York, NY 10004

Re: Penn Station/Empire Station Complex Station Advisory Group

Dear Governor Hochul and Mr. Lieber,

We are pleased to learn of your call for the formation of a new Station Advisory Group (SAG), to allow all stakeholders to regularly meet with the Railways and give their comments on the railroad plans.

To date, the project's Community Advisory Committee and its Working Group ("CAC" and "CAC WG") have provided valuable input to Empire State Development (ESD) through a transparent process that ensures community and stakeholders concerns are heard. However, their efforts have been hampered both by a lack of transparency from the Railways and an apparent disconnect between above-ground development, transportation, and below-ground transit infrastructure improvements.

Manhattan Community Board 4 (MCB4) has yet to receive a list of tangible transit improvements the General Project Plan (GPP) of Empire State Development would create or finance. Such a list has not been made available, nor is there a budget associated with it.

With this context in mind, MCB4 at its December 1<sup>st</sup> Full Board meeting by a vote of 42 in favor, 0 opposed, 1 abstaining, and 0 present but not eligible, urges you to expedite the formation

of the SAG and begin a process that is transparent and grounded in broad community engagement.

Thank you.

Sincerely,

Lowell D. Kern

Chair

Manhattan Community Board 4

Christine Berthet

Co-Chair, Transportation

( Ber The

Planning Committee

Dale Corvino

Co-Chair, Transportation

Planning Committee

Cc: Hon. Brad Hoylman, New York State Senator

Hon. Robert Jackson, New York State Senator

Hon. Linda Rosenthal, NYS Assemblymember

Hon. Richard Gottfried, NYS Assemblymember

Hon. Bill de Blasio, NYC Mayor

Hon. Corey Johnson, NYC Council Speaker

Hon. Jumaane Williams, Public Advocate

Hon. Scott Stringer, NYC Comptroller

Hon. Gale Brewer, Manhattan Borough President

Anita Claremont, Chair, New York City Planning Commission