CITY OF NEW YORK



MANHATTAN COMMUNITY BOARD FOUR

330 West 42nd Street, 26th floor New York, NY 10036 tel: 212-736-4536 fax: 212-947-9512 www.nyc.gov/mcb4

COREY JOHNSON Chair

ROBERT J. BENFATTO, JR., ESQ. District Manager

May 1, 2013

Borough Commissioner Margaret Forgione Department of Transportation 59 Maiden Lane, 35th Floor New York, NY 10038

RE: Proposed Tree Planting and bench installations on the south side of West 34th Street between 11th and 12th Avenues.

Dear Commissioner Forgionne:

Manhattan Community Board #4 requests DOT assistance in enabling sidewalk improvements including planting trees and installing benches on the sidewalk surrounding the planned summer/fall 2014 openning of a High Line entrance approximately mid-block on the south side of West 34th Street between 11th and 12th Avenues. Permitting these sidewalk improvements would require two changes to existing sidewalk usage.

- The removal of an SBS ticket machine and a bus stop that is within 10 feet of the proposed entryway for the High Line. Manhattan CB 4 makes this request since there is an SBS machine and bus stop about on this block nearer the 11th Avenue corner.
- Moving the 4 Megabus bus stops/loading zones from the South Side of West 34th Street between 11th and 12th Avenue to the North side of West 34th Street between 11th and 12th Avenue. As you might recall, this matches our original request on where to move Megabus (from West 41st Street between 8th and 9th Avenue). At the time we did not object to the change to the south side of the street and were pleased to have it moved from the more problematic West 41st Street location. However, with the proposal from the High Line for approximately 200' of sidewalk improvements around their future entrance mid-block on the south side of West 34th Street, we reiterate our request to move Megabus to the north side of the street.

As always, we appreciate your consideration and assistance.

Sincerely,

SA

Merthel

Corey Johnson Chair

Christine Berthet, Co-Chair Transportation Planning Committee

Jay Marcus, Co-Chair Transportation Planning Committee