

Chair

Jesse Bodine District Manager

June 3, 2016

Alba Pico, First Deputy Commissioner Special Application Unit Department of Consumer Affairs 42 Broadway, 5th Floor New York, NY 10004

Ms. Margaret Forgione Manhattan Borough Commissioner NYC Department of Transportation 59 Maiden Lane, 37th Floor New York, NY 10038

Re: Newsstand Application #3936-2016 ANWS, 34th Street at the Southwest corner of 34th Street and 9th Avenue

Dear Commissioner Pico and Commissioner Forgione,

After carefully reviewing this application, Manhattan Community Board 4 (CB4) voted to deny the installation of a 6' x12' newsstand at this location.

Contrary to the applicant's description, three fixed planters obstruct the sidewalk at the proposed location.

The clearance section of the Rules of New York¹ indicates "Newsstands may not be placed within 15 feet of <u>any other obstruction</u>, such as scaffolding or construction material, that is present at the time at which the proposed site for the newsstand is inspected by DOT. If the removal of such obstruction may be reasonably expected within one year, an applicant for a new newsstand may propose such a site for placement of a newsstand upon the removal of such obstruction. DCA shall keep all such applications on file for a maximum of one year from the date of application. It shall be the responsibility of the applicant to notify DCA that such obstruction has been removed. After one year,

CITY OF NEW YORK

MANHATTAN COMMUNITY BOARD FOUR

330 West 42nd Street, 26th floor New York, NY 10036 tel: 212-736-4536 fax: 212-947-9512 www.nyc.gov/mcb4

¹ <u>http://www1.nyc.gov/assets/dca/downloads/pdf/about/sidewalk_stand_law_rules.pdf</u>

any such application that is still pending for any reason, including the continued presence of such obstruction, shall be denied. "

We also note the presence of an existing Newsstand on the opposite side of 9th Avenue at 34th Street. The applicant declined to attend the Transportation committee to answer our questions.

Sincerely,

2

Delores Rubin Chair

Mer The

Christine Berthet Co-Chair, Transportation Planning Committee

Ernest Modarelli Co-Chair, Transportation Planning Committee