

BURT LAZARIN Chair

JESSE R. BODINE District Manager

May 13, 2019

Loraine Grillo Commissioner NYC Department of Design & Construction 30-30 Thomson Avenue Long Island City, NY 11101

Ed Pincar Manhattan Borough Commissioner NYC Department of Transportation 59 Maiden Lane, 37th Floor New York, NY 10037

## **Re: Safety Issues on Ninth Avenue (28<sup>th</sup>-31<sup>st</sup> Streets)**

Dear Commissioner Grillo and Borough Commissioner Pincar,

Manhattan Community Board 4 (CB4) continues to receive complaints from bicyclists and pedestrians raising safety issues related to the construction zone on the east side of Ninth Avenue between 28<sup>th</sup> and 31<sup>st</sup> Streets.

By a vote of 35 in favor, 0 against, 4 abstaining and 0 present but not eligible to vote, CB4 asks for a meeting of all executives of the relevant parties to understand how to address those issues once and for all, for this and other construction sites in our neighborhood.

The specific issues raised are as follow:

- Even though the work is completed on some portions of the avenue, the surface of the bike lane is poorly patched, making it very dangerous to ride in the bike lane
- Similarly, the sidewalk is covered with asphalt and the curb has disappeared making it difficult to walk on the sidewalk
- Personnel posted at the left turn of Ninth Avenue onto West 30<sup>th</sup> Street are not protecting bicyclists

## CITY OF NEW YORK

## MANHATTAN COMMUNITY BOARD FOUR

330 West 42<sup>nd</sup> Street, 26<sup>th</sup> floor New York, NY 10036 tel: 212-736-4536 fax: 212-947-9512 www.nyc.gov/mcb4 This is not the first time we have raised these issues. It is not clear that the Department of Design & Construction has put in place a protocol to educate each of its contractors.

We look forward to meeting with you as soon as possible.

Sincerely,

Burt Lazarin Chair Manhattan Community Board 4

Mer Mer

Christine Berthet Co-Chair Transportation Planning Committee

Dale Corvino Co-Chair Transportation Planning Committee

Cc: Hon. Brad Hoylman, New York State Senate Hon. Richard Gottfried, New York State Assembly Hon. Corey Johnson, Speaker of the City Council Hon. Gale A. Brewer, Manhattan Borough President