

Burt Lazarin

Chair

Jesse R. Bodine District Manager

January 11, 2018

Polly Trottenberg, Commissioner NYC Department of Transportation 55 Water Street New York, NY 10041

Luis Sanchez Manhattan Borough Commissioner NYC Department of Transportation 59 Maiden Lane, 37th Floor New York, NY 10037

Re: L Subway Train Closure

Dear Commissioners Trottenberg & Borough Commissioner Sanchez,

Manhattan Community Board 4 (MCB4) is dismayed that the recently disclosed plan for the planned L subway train closure from Bedford Avenue to Eighth Avenue does not address any of the concerns MCB4 has expressed in the past.

We request that the Department of Transportation (DOT) come back to our Community Board to present their plans related to our community's most urgent concerns. These recommendations were voted on at our January 3rd Full Board meeting with 35 votes in favor, 0 against, 1 abstaining, and 0 present but not eligible to vote:

- A traffic mitigation plan for residents of residential streets north of 14th Street
- A pedestrian safety plan for 14th Street.

The plan presented to the city council envisions 14th Street exclusively dedicated to bus traffic at peak hours and open to some vehicular traffic otherwise. A two-way bike lane will be installed on 13th Street.

CITY OF NEW YORK

MANHATTAN COMMUNITY BOARD FOUR

330 West 42nd Street, 26th floor New York, NY 10036 tel: 212-736-4536 fax: 212-947-9512 www.nyc.gov/mcb4

This leaves vehicular traffic with the only option of using residential streets north of 14th Street for through traffic. MCB4 has already raised this concern with your department in multiple letters, the latest in August 2017. The absence of any mitigation measures in the plan presented to the council is alarming.

We understand that this undertaking presents an extraordinary challenge to all agencies, but unintended consequences could have a large negative impact on the best-laid plans and should not be dismissed.

Please let us know when you will attend our Transportation Committee meeting with the requested proposals.

Sincerely,

Burt Lazarin

Chair

Manhattan Community

Board 4

Christine Berthet

Co-Chair

Mer Mes

Transportation Planning

Committee

Yoni Bokser

Co-Chair

Transportation Planning

Committee

Cc: Hon. Jerry Nadler, U.S Congress

Hon. Brad Hoylman, New York State Senator

Hon. Gale Brewer, Manhattan Borough President

Hon. Linda Rosenthal, New York State Assembly

Hon. Richard Gottfried, New York State Assembly

Hon. Corey Johnson, City Council

Hon. Helen Rosenthal, City Council