

BURT LAZARIN Chair

JESSE R. BODINE District Manager

December 10, 2019

Ed Pincar Manhattan Borough Commissioner NYC Department of Transportation 59 Maiden Lane, 37th Floor New York, NY 10037

Andy Byford President MTA New York City Transit 2 Broadway New York, NY 10004

RE: M11 Bus Route Improvements

Dear Commissioner Pincar and President Byford,

Manhattan Community Board 4 (MCB4) at its December 4th Full Board meeting, by a vote of 40 in favor, 0 against, 0 abstaining, and 0 present but not eligible to vote, requested that the Department of Transportation (DOT) and the MTA jointly study and propose methods to address the poor performance of the M11 Bus Route on Ninth Avenue.

The M11 travels from Greenwich Village to West 144th Street using Tenth and Amsterdam Avenues northbound and Columbus and Ninth Avenues southbound. This route serves over 15 NYCHA residential complexes as well as Manhattan Plaza and Penn South, both of which have large numbers of senior residents.

This route has been given several Pokey awards as the slowest bus in Manhattan and received an 'F' rating in the last three report cards from the Bus Turnaround Coalition. The bus runs at 4.9 miles an hour and is unreliable.

Daily Lincoln Tunnel congestion likely contributes to the delays that affect the entire line. We ask you to consider physically separating the bus lane from vehicular traffic (using armadillos)

CITY OF NEW YORK

MANHATTAN COMMUNITY BOARD FOUR

330 West 42nd Street, 26th floor New York, NY 10036 tel: 212-736-4536 fax: 212-947-9512 www.nyc.gov/mcb4 from West 59th Street to West 34th Street except in areas under construction, as well as installing transit priority signals, and any other methods that can make the M11 a viable method of transportation for the many residents who depend on this service.

MCB4 suggests that this M11 Route be included in the Bus Turnaround Plan and the Street Master Plan.

Thank you for your attention to this matter.

Sincerely,

Burt Lazarin Chair Manhattan Community Board 4

(the The

Christine Berthet Co-Chair Transportation Planning Committee

Dale Corvino Co-Chair Transportation Planning Committee