

BURT LAZARIN Chair

JESSE R. BODINE District Manager

December 10, 2019

Ed Pincar Manhattan Borough Commissioner NYC Department of Transportation 59 Maiden Lane, 37th Floor New York, NY 10037

Re: Pedestrian Improvements to the Eighth and Ninth Avenue Corridors.

Dear Commissioner Pincar,

Manhattan Community Board 4 (MCB4) at its December 4th Full Board meeting, voted by 39 in favor, 0 against, 1 abstaining, and 0 present but not eligible to vote, on extending the sidewalk expansion on the west side of Eighth Avenue, from West 38th to West 42nd Streets down to West 34th Street to the south and up to West 59th Street to the north. MCB4 also requests that sidewalks be extended on the West side of Ninth Avenue from West 42nd to West 59th Streets.

We greatly appreciate the NYC Department of Transportation's (DOT) initiative in implementing sidewalk enlargement in order to ease rush hour pedestrian congestion and reduce conflicts. Even in the short time since the completion of this installation, we have seen significant improvements in pedestrian and cyclist safety and easing of pedestrian congestion. To build on the success of this approach, we request it be extended as specified.

On Ninth Avenue, the sidewalk width had been reduced 50 years ago to make way for the Lincoln Tunnel traffic lanes, to the detriment of the pedestrian experience. With trap doors and numerous sidewalk cafes it is very difficult to walk on the western sidewalk, and even more difficult for wheelchair users. Now that a lane of Lincoln Tunnel traffic has been created on Eleventh Avenue, there is capacity to restore the sidewalk to its original and legitimate width.

These improvements are consistent with the Street Master Plan legislation just passed and should be prioritized accordingly.

Sincerely,

CITY OF NEW YORK

MANHATTAN COMMUNITY BOARD FOUR

330 West 42nd Street, 26th floor New York, NY 10036 tel: 212-736-4536 fax: 212-947-9512 www.nyc.gov/mcb4

B

Burt Lazarin Chair Manhattan Community Board 4

Merthet

Christine Berthet Co-Chair Transportation Planning Committee

Dale Corvino Co-Chair Transportation Planning Committee